Luke Fink takes the win at the British Drift GP

For immediate Release
15th June

Drift Allstars Europe Round 1 – British Drift GP Results

Europe’s most thrilling extreme motorsport series returned with a bang this weekend as the Extreme Drift Allstars European Series 2015 kicked off with the British Drift GP at Essex Arena Raceway.

Returning to the series was former champion Luke Fink from Australia, piloting the incredible Low Brain Drifters Mosler-V8 powered Nissan Silvia. From the off, Fink made it clear that he was here to win and it was the final battle of the evening against Latvian Janis Eglite that had the crowd chanting for more, and set the steel-ringed arena alight with excitement. After two incredibly close runs Fink would just edge it, taking home the trophy and confirming his status as one to watch in the race for the 2015 European championship.


Over the course of three days prior the Extreme Drift Allstars team transformed the popular UK speedway circuit into a custom-built drift venue. With the help of expert drift judges from across the continent, the result was a challenging layout with imposing metal walls, arduous undulations and transitions that both unsettled the cars and tested the drivers to their absolute limits.

With a field made up of both seasoned Drift Allstars professionals and local wildcard entries, morning practice showed little indication of who would be the victor as the drivers tested, and often found, the limits of the tricky circuit. Come qualifying, it would be Janis Eglite in his 800bhp V8 BMW 3-series, affectionately nicknamed the ‘Forest Beast’, that took the top position following flawless and aggressive qualifying runs. The pairing that had everyone talking, and two former champions that had never met in battle before; James Deane and Luke Fink, would follow in second and third positions, respectively.


The top 16 threw up some upsets, as the local crowd got behind wildcard entry Joe Dunlop to see him eliminate the Ukrainian Dmitriy Illyuk. As night drew in and the arena floodlights kicked into action we were left with four seeded Drift Allstars professionals in the semi finals – Finland’s Juha Pöytälaakso would face Janis Eglite and, in the battle that everyone wanted to see, Luke Fink headed off against Irish champion James Deane.

Eglite and Pöytälaakso’s battle of the BMWs was hard-fought, with neither driver conceding an inch to the other. Eglite would just do enough to edge out the flying Finn as anticipation in the crowd grew for the other semi final.


With Fink and Deane on the line, no-one knew what to expect. What followed were two drift battles the likes of which have never been seen on British soil before – both drivers inches apart as the sound of their roaring engines reverberated around the arena. A slight error by Deane would see him make contact, handing the battle to Fink.

In the third-place playoff, Deane showed relentless pace against Pöytälaakso, securing the Irishman’s place on the bottom step of the podium.

final battle

The final, between Latvian champion Eglite and former European champion Fink, would be one to watch. Eglite’s consistent and fast style of driving saw him match Fink’s line well, but it was Fink’s unparallelled aggression and proximity that would be enough to see him edge out the competition to take the top step of the podium.

fink interview

“After a rocky start we were extremely happy to come away with the win,” added Fink. “It was even better to finally get to battle, and beat, James Deane. We’re friendly rivals and it was a damn good fight! Now I can’t wait for my next Drift Allstars round to cause more upset and to put my tyre on more doors again.”

The second round of the 2015 Extreme Drift Allstars European Series sees the championship head to Eskilstuna Motor Sport Arena in Gröndal on 4-5th July for the Swedish Drift GP where the regular favourites will do battle with a whole host of Scandinavian drivers in a bid to be crowned victor.

Final results from the British Drift GP – Round 1:
1. Luke Fink – Australia – Tri-Ace Tyres/Low Brain Drifters
2. Janis Eglite – Latvia – Tri-Ace Tyres
3. James Deane – Ireland – Falken Tyres/Level One Qatar
4. Juha Pöytälaakso – Finland – Power2Drift