We’re Back in Eastern Europe with a Bang!

Drift Allstars Round 4 – 2016 Estonian Drift GP

The past weekend Laitse Rally Park near Tallinn, Estonia welcomed the Drift Allstars championship with open arms as some of the world’s best drift drivers came together for an explosive and unforgettable 2016 Estonian Drift GP.

With a whole host of local wild card drivers wanting to test their mettle against the international allstars, it looked like it would be the event of the underdog, as several big names fell early on in the event to unseeded local drivers. When the smoke settled however, Estonian Kristjan Klemets would find himself lining up against two-time Drift Allstars champion James Deane in the finals. Klemets was unable to match Deane’s consistency and calmness under pressure, handing the Irishman yet another win in Europe.


A fast, blind initiation over a crest that lifted all four wheels into the air against a solid concrete wall greeted drivers upon their arrival at Laitse Rally Park for the Estonian Drift GP. This technical circuit would certainly challenge the nerves of competitors! We’re used to seeing James Deane lock out qualifying, but during Friday’s qualifying session it would be Australia’s Aleksandar Kantarovski who would clinch P1 following two exciting judged runs. Latvian champion Janis Eglite looked like he was back in the fight by taking P2 while two strong, but safe, runs by Deane put him into P3.


The first major casualty of Saturday’s main event was Ireland’s Nigel Colfer, who was defeated by Estonian driver Jarmo Luht in the Top 32. He wouldn’t be the last big name to fall however, as several Drift Allstars regulars looked to be having a tough time, a mixture of mechanical issues and trouble taming the tight and technical circuit. Finland’s Juha Pöytälaakso suffered an engine failure during the Top 32 at the same stage in the competition and top qualifier Kantarovski’s Estonian campaign fizzled out in the Top 8 when his Nissan SR20 engine expired too. Janis Eglite made it as far as the Top 16 where he lost out to Lithuanian Benediktas Čirba.


While James Deane quietly made his way through his opponents, on the other side of the bracket Norway’s Fredrik Øksnevad looked on good form for a strong finish, however an uncharacteristic mistake on his chase run against Kristjan Klemets in the Great 8 saw his competition come to an end.

Estonian Klemets also overcame Cypriot Enver Haskasap in the Semi Final. Haskasap was on good form in his 350Z convertible, but couldn’t make it higher than the bottom step of the podium.

The final between Deane and Klemets would be a closely fought battle, but Deane’s composure paid dividends and he didn’t put a foot wrong. Following an incredibly close textbook chase run, Deane had done enough to secure the victory, extending his lead at the top of the championship and steering him towards a third consecutive Drift Allstars title.


Final results from the Drift Allstars 2016 Estonian Drift GP –

  1. James Deane – Ireland – Falken Tyres

  2. Kristjan Klemets – Estonia – Team Ghost

  3. Enver Haskasap – Cyprus – NEU Drift Team


It’s far from over yet however! The fifth round of the 2016 Extreme Drift Allstars series is already upon us, as the championship heads to the legendary Bikernieki Circuit in the heart of Riga, Latvia, for the 2016 Latvian Drift GP on 5th-6th August.